Ayurveda Yoga Perspective

Ayurveda is the most ancient science of India. This science bestows us the knowledge of of veda. And it is considered as 'Upaveda' also. In Rigveda, there are so many mantras (magic spells) regarding Ayurveda are available. Atharvaveda (Atharva science) is a treatise that gives us detailed description of all diseases and suggests their treatment. Ayurveda is considered to be the sub-veda of this Atharvaveda. This is a science of Yoga, which deals with age, health, welfare of mankind. The prime goal of Ayurveda is the treatment for an ailment and prevention of a disease.

There is an interesting account for the emergence of Ayurveda, in the beginning of charaka and susrita samhitas. Those are main sources  to know the tradition of Ayurveda. Acharya Bharadwaja is considered to be the pioneer of 'Kaaya (body) chikitsa (treatment)' in the modern times. In his tradition, 'Caraka Samhita' has sublime regard as the 'greatest treatise' on medicine. Acharya Dhanvantari was a pioneer of 'Shalya Cikitsa (surgery)'. And 'Susrita Samhita' is the authentic treatise in this regard. Acharya Vagbhata wrote valuable foundings on 'Ashtanga Hriday'. And this article is based on these great references.


Prominent volumes of Yoga In 'Patanjali Yogasutras', we find Eight chapters of Yoga. So it is also known as 'Ashtanga Yoga'. From 'Yam' (self-control) to  'Pratyahara' (withdrawal), external means of yoga is accepted.  And the rest 'Dharana' (concentration), 'Dhyana' (meditation), 'samadhi' (union) are considered as internal means. Yoga philosophers considers that 'when the eight parts of Yoga are accomplished, then all kinds of impurities would be vanished and immence prudence lights within. Broadly speaking, external yoga practice ould be accomplished with the practice of 'Hatha yoga' (kind of forced yoga) and internal Yoga practice would be accomplished with the practice of 'Raj yoga'. First of all, Nath traditional sages named those practices as 'Hatha yoga'and 'Raj yoga'.  They said 'Without Hatha yoga, Raj yoga is not achieved and Without Raj yoga, we never imagine the accomplishment of Hatha yoga'.

(Hatham vina rajayogom rajayogam
vina hathah. Na siddhayati tato
samabhyseth) Gorakshapadhyati.
Hence, for the accomplishment of complete yoga, we need to practice two types of exercises. To make it more legible, we may say Hath yoga is a kind of yoga which gives more importance to practice with body and Raja yoga is a kind of yoga which gives more importance to practice with mind.

According to Hath Yoga, we can cure many disorders, by the practice of Asanas, Pranayama. While practicing these Yog Asanas, Pranayama, patients can be relieved of diseases. Now a days, people suffer with many more diseases. But whatever the disease may be, by the regular practice of Asanas, Pranayama, we control them and restore the normal condition.  Asanas, Pranayama  show miraculous results in patients.

The Scholars of Ayurveda advised many more remedies to cure the diseases and restore health, in which Panca Karmas…Snehan, Swedan, Vaman, Virechan, Basti karmas are prescribed prominently. Indian sages, Yogis and Sanyasis advocated Shatkarma (six actions) in which 1. Dhoti 2. Basti 3.Neti 4. Nauli 5. Tratak 6. Kapalabhati are the prime parts.

By practicing Astanga Yoga and Hath Yoga etc, we get a healthy, sound and fit body. And by the way, our inner soul gains serenity, enthusiasm and a clear, flawless, subtle intellect. Ayurvedic medicines brings balancement among vata, pitta and kapha. And Asanas, Pranayama and Shatkarmas bestows health to a person without taking any external medication. The scholars of Ayurveda thought that 'Satwa', 'Raja' and 'Tam' etc qualities maintaining all the three worlds. Just like that vata, pitta and kapha qualities support our body to sustain.

'Caraka Samhita' is the greatest treatise on medicine. In the field of medical science it is the book is ultimate authority. We find Sankhya, Yoga, Nyaya, Vaiseshika, Meemaamsa, Vedanta etc six Astika (theistic) Darshanas (philosophies) alongwith vyakarana (grammar) etc. philosophical sutras (rules) in this great volume, which are beautifully depicted in a lucid style.

'Caraka Samhita' is an ancient treatise. The great sage Caraka considered Ayurveda is an eternal health science and presented such kind of incontrovertible arguments,  in support of his perspective. Ex- Ayurveda and its knowledge belong to ancient period, because the creation of Soul and con-science are also ancient.

Thus Ayu (age) and Ved (science) are eternal things. Thus Ayurveda is eternal. The good and ill  things and natures that effect Ayurveda in this world always (in the past, present and in future) are also permanent. Their qualities, nature and effect are also permanent. Ex - Fire always burns things, in future also it does so. In the same way,  Caraka samhita provides health in the present times means, it protects our health in future also.

1] In Atharvaveda, physiology, medicine and treatment parts are discussed in detail.
2] Ayurveda is considered as upa (sub-veda) of Atharvaveda. In Atharvaveda some medicines like Apamarga are also described.

Caraka Samhita is considered to be the best medicinal science of Ayurveda, which is a self - complete one in treatment and prevention of diseases.

Yoga Education

One doubt is arised in Caraka Samhita,'Katidhapurush?yash?r?r?dhy? ya'?, means…Where the whole pain is eradicated? Again answer is supplemented by Caraka by saying - 'Yoga and moksha (salvation) annihilate all pains, In Moksha the core part of the pain is fired off. Yoga is the ultimate means that bestows Solvation.'

Characteristics of Yoga

Pleasure and Pain are related to the soul, senses, conscience and money. When our mind is consistent in our soul, then it withdraws from  pleasure and pain, then the body would also be in control, he would be in self - control. This state is known as Yoga Samadhi. Yoga Philosopher Maharshi (sage) Patanjali told - 'Yoga stops all kinds of activities of mind.' Maharshi Patanjali considered that there are five types of differences in the activ-ities of mind.

Ex- Pramana (evidence), viparyaya , vikalpa, nidra and smriti. Pratyaksha, Anumana and Agama are the three types of Pramanas. Mithya jnan is viparyaya. Only unreal sound knowledge is vikalpa. Nidra (sleep) \supports  the knowledge of Abhava (Absence). And the matter which is felt in our inner sense is called 'smriti'.  All these five feelings give us either pleasure or pain. We can stop these feelings by 'Abhyasa' (practice) and 'Vairagya' (uninterestedness). When these Abhyasa and Vairagya are stopped, then there would be no happiness or ache. And in the absence of samskaras (good and bad) there would not be rebirth. Then the doors of salvation are opened for us.

In Caraka Samhita, body should be in control of soul, that means… When our practice is accomplished in Yoga, our body with all its five elements, goes under the control of Atman. Atman (soul) empowers our body.  If we decide to do a thing, we would do it all by ourselves. We would not be craving for sensual pleasures then. And even the body exists, we may lead our life without Maya or Avidya, ignorance. Thus we would become 'emancipated while still alive'.